Public Invited to Presidential Search Candidate Forum at Crafton Hills College

By on November 6, 2018

The advisory committee in the national search for next president of Crafton Hills College (CHC) has announced they have narrowed the search to four potential candidates. San Bernardino Community College District Chancellor Bruce R. Baron and the advisory committee have invited the CHC community and the general public to the CHC Presidential Search Candidate Forum on Tuesday, Nov. 13 from 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. at the Learning Resource Center, room 231, at CHC, 11711 Sand Canyon Road in Yucaipa.

“This is a transformative time in the history of Crafton Hills College, and we welcome the community’s involvement in finding the right leader to engage faculty, staff, students, alumni and our wider community to propel the campus to new heights,” said Chancellor Baron.

The candidate forum will include a presentation by each of the candidates for their vision for Crafton Hills College’s future. The forum will also include an opportunity for questions of the candidates from the public. The four CHC presidential candidates include Dr. Eric Bishop, Dr. Kevin Horan, Dr. Kimberlee Messina and Dr. Lisa B. Rhine.

Attendance at the forum is free but prospective attendees must RSVP at: The forum will also be live-streamed at:

Brief candidate profiles include the following information:

Dr. Eric Bishop

Dr. Bishop is the current vice president of Student Services for Chaffey College in Rancho Cucamonga, CA. He completed his doctorate in organizational leadership (Ed.D.) from University of La Verne (ULV) in 2008 and earned his bachelors (1988 in journalism), and masters (1994 in communications).

Previous to his current position he was associate dean of academic support and retention at ULV and taught journalism and mass media studies full time for seven years. He currently serves as an adjunct faculty member at ULV as well as in the doctoral program at San Diego State University. He also serves as the student affairs chair on the Bethany Theological Seminary Board of Trustees in Richmond, Indiana.

Dr. Kevin Horan

Dr. Horan is currently the vice president of instruction and student services at Los Medanos College in Pittsburgh, CA, one of three colleges that are part of the Contra Costa Community College District (CCCCD). He earned an Ed.D. in educational leadership from Saint Mary’s College (SMC) in Moraga, CA, a master of science in college student personnel from Western Illinois University in Macomb, IL, and a bachelor of arts in government and dramatic arts from SMC.

Prior to joining CCCCD Horan served as the director of campus affairs at California State University East Bay’s Concord Campus, director of student affairs at Samuel Merritt University in Oakland, CA, and director of residence life/auxiliary services at Holy Names University, also in Oakland.

Dr. Kimberlee Messina

Dr. Messina is the current interim president at Foothill College in Los Altos Hills, CA, one of two community colleges of the Foothill–De Anza Community College District. She holds a doctorate (Ed.D.) in educational leadership from UC Davis. Dr. Messina earned a bachelor’s degree in sociology and a master’s degree in Spanish from CSU Sacramento.

Dr. Messina has served with the California Community Colleges for more than 26 years. Her career path includes service as a “freeway flyer” adjunct faculty, a tenured Spanish instructor, a two-term academic senate president and an instructional dean at Santa Rosa Junior College.

Dr. Lisa B. Rhine

Dr. Rhine is the current provost and chief operating officer of the Chesapeake Campus at Tidewater Community College located in Chesapeake, VA. She holds a doctorate in educational administration from Capella University headquartered in Minneapolis, MN. Dr. Rhine earned a certificate in deaf studies from Sinclair Community College (Dayton, OH), a bachelor’s in rehabilitation counseling from Wright State University (Fairborn, OH) and a master’s in special education from the University of Dayton.

Dr. Rhine began her career in higher education by serving in various positions at Sinclair Community College in Dayton. She then moved to the University of Dayton in various positions and subsequently to Wittenberg University (Springfield, OH).  Prior to her current position she served in student services at Northern Kentucky University in Highland Heights, OH.

Additional information on each of the CHC presidential candidates can be found at: